Early Years Foundation Stage Framework

back to nursery

EYFS, short for Early Years Foundation Stage, is a series of guidelines on the learning and development of children up to five years old.

The Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards for promoting the learning, development and safety of children from birth to five years in Ofsted registered settings. The EYFS lays down the legal requirements that early years providers must meet, including:

Learning and development requirements

Specific areas of learning and development which should shape the activities and experiences you offer

Assessment requirements

How you measure children’s progress and feedback to parents or carers

Safeguarding and welfare requirements

What you must do to keep children safe and promote their welfare

There are 3 prime areas of learning: 

Communication and Language

Physical Development

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

There are 4 specific areas of learning: 



Understanding of the World

Expressive Art and Design

All areas of learning are reflected inside and outside.

click here to view the nursery program of inquiry