EYFS Curriculum

Back to Subject specific curriculum statements

Our Nursery and Reception follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) alongside the Primary Years Programme (PYP) which allows us to create a learning environment that encourages our children to inquire, explore, question, investigate, create, play, imagine and most importantly… have fun! This is carried out via a mixture of self chosen activities and adult initiated activities. The learning environment is set up so that children can move freely around defined areas for reading, writing, art, construction, imaginative play, sensory play, science and mathematics. The children can access both indoor and outdoor environments and do so in all weathers. 

There are seven areas of learning and development and all of these areas are important and interconnected. Three of these areas are crucial for igniting children’s curiosity, enthusiasm for learning and for building their capacity to learn and form relationships.

These three areas are called the PRIME areas:

  1. Communication and Language
  2. Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  3. Physical Development

There are four SPECIFIC areas that are designed to build upon the PRIME areas:

  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Understanding the World
  4. Expressive Arts and Design


The Primary Years Programme focuses on the total growth of the developing child and is taught through six transdisciplinary themes. These are:

Nursery and Reception will follow four of these six themes throughout the year to promote a broad, balanced curriculum that promotes self-esteem, encourages curiosity and develops problem solving skills through interactive play.